Navratri - DurgaPuja | paragraph in English | Studyment

Navratri festival is celebrated to worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga, the Hindu Goddess of Power. It is a very important Hindu Festival and celebrated all over the country.

The festival of Navratri continues for nine days. It is followed by Vijaya Dashmi (also Dussehra) Festival on the 10th day.

The nine days of Navratri are usually dedicated to the nine incarnations (avatars) of goddess Durga:
Day 1 – Shailaputri
Day 2 – Brahmacharini
Day 3 – Chandraghanta
Day 4 – Kushmanda
Day 5 – Skandmata
Day 6 – Katyayani
Day 7 – Kalaratri
Day 8 – Mahagauri
Day 9 – Sidhidatri

Navratri is a festival which is mostly celebrated in the northeast and eastern part of India. Kids in schools have a holiday on the 8th and the 9th day. As those are the last days of the festival.

Different programs are being done on the tenth day such as Raam-Leela. In this event, artists perform different stories and chapters of Lord Rama and entertain and acknowledge people.

After puja, people perform immersion ceremony of the statue in the holy water. Devotees return to their homes and pray to Mata to come next year again with lots of blessings.